Royal GeorgeBlind Lane
Set in the heart of the picturesque village overlooking the roof tops of Cottingham on the side of the Welland Valley, this pub is one of the oldest buildings in the village. The lower lounge was erected in 1261 as a farmhouse with crux beams dating back to the 14th century in the roof section of that part of the building. The bar area was built in 1500 and the building became a pub in 1780. At the same time the Royal George Flagship was commissioned, hence the name. which was given to all pubs that were granted a license in 1780. The interior is tiered providing several drinking areas,the dinning area has been enlarged by making two small rooms into one larger area/ whilst outside a large covered decking has been erected.